UT-Level U/17 Boys Cricket Tournament kicks off in Anantnag
About Us | Contact Us | E-Paper
Title :    Text :    Source : 

UT-Level U/17 Boys Cricket Tournament kicks off in Anantnag

Budgam, Baramullah shine in opening matches

Post by Younus Rashid on Wednesday, September 27, 2023

First slide
Anantnag, Sep 26: The UT-Level Cricket Tournament for U/17 Boys, organized by the Department of Youth Services & Sports, kicked off with fervor in Anantnag. Hosted by District Anantnag and overseen by Joint Director Youth Services & Sports Kashmir, the tournament witnessed an enthusiastic inauguration at the HSS Bhijbehra Turf Wicket, jointly presided over by the District Youth Services & Sports Officer Anantnag and the Principal of Higher Secondary School Bhijbehra.
The tournament, featuring young talents in the U/17 age group, saw a total of 12 matches scheduled across four different venues during the first two days of the competition. Most of these matches were played on turf wickets, and players lauded the arrangements made for the tournament.
The initial matches produced thrilling performances and nail-biting finishes. Here are the results of the concluded matches:
Match 1: Budgam vs. Kupwara
Budgam won the toss and chose to field. Faizan Lateef from Budgam delivered an outstanding performance, claiming 5 wickets for just 10 runs in 3 overs. Faizan Lateef also showcased his batting prowess, scoring 56 runs in just 43 balls. Budgam emerged victorious by 5 wickets.
Match 2: Kulgam vs Pulwama
Pulwama won the toss and opted to field. Zaid Bin Farooq of Pulwama took 3 wickets in his 3 overs. Shahzad Aiman played a brilliant knock of 54 runs in 34 balls. Faizan Mukhtar scored 78 runs for Pulwama. Pulwama secured victory, with Faizan Mukhtar being named Man of the Match for his all-around performance.
Match 3: Srinagar vs Ganderbal
The match remained incomplete due to a wet field, resulting in both teams receiving one point each.
Match 4: Shopian vs Baramullah
Baramullah won the toss and elected to field. Salman Ashraf from Baramullah claimed 3 wickets in 3 overs, conceding only 25 runs. Danish Shamim of Shopian scored 33 runs in just 17 balls. Baramullah chased down the target successfully. Faizan Ibhreem was declared Man of the Match for his performance.
Match 5: Ganderbal vs Shopian
Shopian won the toss and chose to field.
Murtaza Ahmad took 3 wickets for Shopian. Ubaid Ahmad claimed 4 wickets for Ganderbal. Ganderbal emerged victorious, with Ubaid Ahmad named Man of the Match.
Match 6: Kulgam vs Kupwara
Kulgam won the toss and elected to bat. Kulgam scored 136 runs. Salman Ashraf of Kulgam took 3 wickets for 10 runs. Kupwara fell short by 10 runs, with Salman Ashraf being named Man of the Match for his exceptional bowling.
Match 7: Budgam vs Bandipora
Bandipora won the toss and chose to field. Jameed from Bandipora picked up 2 wickets. Mubashir from Budgam scored 40 runs. Bandipora secured victory by 45 runs, with Majid being declared Man of the Match for his 3-wicket haul.
Match 8: Anantnag vs Baramullah
Baramullah won the toss and decided to bowl. Faizan Ibrahim of Baramullah took 3 wickets for 24 runs.
Shahid scored 52 runs for Anantnag. Baramullah chased the target successfully, winning by 5 wickets. Faizan Tariq Ibrahim was named Man of the Match for his impressive bowling.
Notably, Budgam's Faizan achieved a remarkable feat by claiming a hat-trick in the tournament, adding to the excitement of the matches. Other matches are still underway at various venues, promising more thrilling cricket action in the coming days.

Latest Post