5 newly elected MLCs take oath, PDP MLC stays away

Published at April 21, 2017 12:15 AM 0Comment(s)4170views

BJP broke the coalition dharma: Reshi

Rising Kashmir News

Jammu, April 20:

 The five newly elected MLCs took oath of office on Thursday while PDP MLC Yasir Reshi, who was re-elected for second term, stayed away to protest breaking of coalition dharma by BJP.
Chairman of Legislative Council, Haji Anayat Ali administered oath of office in the Council lobby to Aga Syed Mahmood Al-Moosavi (NC), Girdhari Lal Raina (BJP), Pardeep Sharma (BJP), Balbir Singh (Congress) and Vikram Randhawa (BJP).
Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Abdul Rehman Veeri, Minister for Cooperatives, Chering Dorjay, besides several former and sitting legislators of both the houses were present on the occasion. Barring Veeri, no other PDP minister was present in the oath-taking ceremony.
However, PDP’s Yasir Reshi, who was re-elected for second term did not attend the oath-taking ceremony.
“For me, party is my priority. I think, my colleague Abdul Qayoom Dar faced injustice leading to his defeat. Keeping in view the circumstances that led to his defeat, I have decided not to take oath. I stand with my party and my colleague, who have been betrayed,” Reshi told Rising Kashmir.
Alleging that BJP broke coalition dharma, he said, “There are ethics in alliance. If they (BJP) feel they have done right thing what can be done. We have 28 MLAs and we could have also managed another seat for Upper House but we preferred our alliance and commitment towards each other”.
He said PDP preferred to fulfill its promises which it made to its alliance partner. “It would not have been a big deal to manage MLC elections.”




    Leave a Reply

    Back To Top