About Us | Contact Us | E-Paper

Most Australian players set to be available for remainder of IPL

Post by on Thursday, July 1, 2021

First slide
Sydney:Despite scathing remarks of Australia's white ball skipper Aaron Finch, who said it would be hard for the Australians to justify playing the IPL and skipping national duty, most Australians, if not all, will be turning up for the unfinished games of the Indian Premier League. The remainder of the tournament is likely to be played from September 18-20 to October 10-15, in the United Arab Emirates.
Cricbuzz understands that most Australian players, barring those like Pat Cummins, who has declared his unavailability long back, should be taking part in the IPL. It includes players who have skipped the tour of West Indies and Bangladesh.
There were about 20 Australian players, including those who came in as replacements, and out of them, nine have been picked for the team's tours of West Indies and Bangladesh. The likes of Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis and Daniel Sams, who have pulled out of the West Indies tour citing personal reasons, should turn up along with some others.
Besides, the mood in the Australian cricket set-up also is for the players' participation in the IPL, which will be played just before the Twenty20 World Cup, major parts of which are also set to take place in the UAE.
Meanwhile, the IPL franchises have been assured by the authorities of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) that most foreign players will turn up for the IPL. Although there has been no formal communication to the teams from the BCCI, the authorities have told the franchise officials that efforts are being made to ensure the participation of the foreign players.
The BCCI is also trying to convince the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) to let the English players take part although ECB authorities have already declared that their players won't be made available for the IPL. The exact status of foreign participation, it is learnt, will be conveyed to the teams by the BCCI around July 15.

Latest Post