JKCA's Chitra Singh seals berth in North Zone Women's T20 squad
About Us | Contact Us | E-Paper
Title :    Text :    Source : 

JKCA's Chitra Singh seals berth in North Zone Women's T20 squad

Post by RK News on Thursday, November 9, 2023

First slide
Jammu, Nov 08: Consistency and display of skills in all the departments of the game helped Jammu and Kashmir Cricket Association's (JKCA's) talented all-rounder Chitra Singh Jamwal to seal berth in the prestigious North Zone Women's T20 squad for Inter-Zonal T20 Championship scheduled to be held from November 24 to December 4, 2023 at Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.
The selection meeting was convened by Haryana Cricket Association in the presence of Convener, Anirudh Chaudhary and the members of Senior Women North Zone Selection Committee including Ms Amita Sharma (Delhi), Ms Poonam Bharadwaj (Haryana), Ms Surabhi Dadheechi (J&K), Ms Gurdeep Kaur (Punjab), Ms Richa Sehgal Chandigarh, Surender Mehta (Himachal Pradesh).
Chitra was part of J&K's Senior Women's T20 squad in the recently concluded BCCI's Senior Women's T20 Trophy, wherein she performed very well with both the willow and the ball as well.
She scored around 150 runs in 6 innings' with 4 thirty plus scores and captured 9 wickets in 5 innings' in the league phase of the tournament.
Her 3/24 against strong Madhya Pradesh and 3/21 against Hyderabad were her best figures in the tournament.
It is pertinent to mention here that Chitra, a top-order batter and a medium pace bowler, had also performed well in the JKCA practice matches played against formidable sides of Himachal Pradesh and Chandigarh at home prior to the official tournament.
Chitra will be rubbing shoulders with the likes of international cricketers like Shafali Verma, captain of North Zone squad; Harleen Kour, her deputy; Sushma Verma and Tanya Bhatia. Pacer bAmanjot Kaur and U-19 stars Shweta Sehrawat, Kashvi Gautam and Mannat Kashyap are also part of the 15-member squad.
SQUAD: Shafali Verma (Captain), Harleen Kour, Shweta Sehrawat, Parushi Prabhakar, Sushma Verma (WK), Tanya Bhatia (WK), Amarjot Kaur, Kashvi Gautam, Neelam Bisht, Mannat Kashyap, Parunika Sisodia, Chitra Singh Jamwal, Amandeep Kaur, Suman Gulia, Madhu Dhama.

Latest Post