About Us | Contact Us | E-Paper

JK Timer lifts trophy, defeats Kashmir Kings by 47 runs

Post by on Friday, June 3, 2022

First slide

Anantnag, June 02: Registering win consecutively for the  third time in the finals of 3rd edition of Gund Premiere T20 Cricket League 2022, JK Timber Thursday defeated Kashmir Kings by 47 runs in the finals played at Gund Anantnag.

In the  final match  JK Timber Anantnag locked horns with  Kashmir Kings. while winning the toss skipper JK Timber elected to bat first. JK Timber scored a massive 246 runs on board. Aqib scored brilliant knock of 66 runs. Imran Ganie  was second highest scorer, who scored important 64 runs for his team.

While bowling, Kashmir Kings side  Manzoor Gadoo was the highest wicket taker, who scalped  three wickets for his team whereas  Gowher leggy took two wickets.

Chasing the massive target of 247 runs, team Kashmir Kings fell short of 48 runs. Thus, paving the way for team JK Timber's to lift the trophy for third time consecutively.

For Kashmir Kings Muneeb Munaf was the highest scorer,  he contributed 37 runs to the team from bat whereas Manzoor Gadoo scored 33 runs, Dardish Goni's 22 runs could not help his team to register victory as they could score only 199 runs in the final game of the tournament.

For team JK Timber Ishfaq Bhat and Ovais Baba took three wickets each, whereas Ishtiyaq Rasool took two wickets and Aqib took one wicket for his team.

A total of 20 teams across the valley participated in this tournament. The teams were distributed in four groups, with five teams in each group who battled with each other. JK Timer  already has won the title in the previous two editions.

At the concluding ceremony, Winner team  was awarded with cash prize of Rs. 1,30000 and trophy while as Runner up team was awarded with Rs. 70000 and runners up trophy while Man of the series was awarded with Rs.10000 and Man of the match with Rs. 5000/=

Imtiyaz lefty was declared Man of the tournament, Aqib Mir as Man of the match, Gowhar Leggy as the best bowler, Nasir Kumar was given best catch award whereas Rayees Ahmad bagged emerging player award.