About Us | Contact Us | E-Paper

J&K Men’s, UP Women’s teams emerge as winners

Post by on Thursday, January 13, 2022

First slide
Jammu, Jan 12:  J&K Men and UP Women teams emerged winners in North Zone 1st Senior Men and Women Rollball Championship held at MA Stadium Skating Rink, Jammu.
Around 150 players across the North-Zone of India including J&K, Punjab, Haryana, UP, Chandigarh and Delhi participated in the championship.
J&K emerged as winners by trouncing UP by 9-4 in Men’s category, whereas Delhi stood at 3rd place by defeating Haryana by 5-3, UP defeated J&K by 2-1 in Women category.
General Secretary J&K Rollball Association Madhu Sharma, was in incharge of the event, while Sudhir Singh, Rajesh Gupta, Rita Rehan, Vaishali Begal, Satish Koul were members of the organizing committee.
On the occasion, Sharma also extended gratitude to Advisor Farooq Khan, Nuzhat Gul, Secretary Sports Council, Vivekanand Rai, Director Tourism Jammu and Dhirender Verma, Commandant 38th Battalion CRPF for extending support to the Association in hosting the championship.
While addressing, Chairman Association Anil Sharma, praised the organizing committee for conducting the event in a very professional way by following all the COVID SOPs. 
He also assured the players that he will definitely take up their concern not to be included in the list of game recognized by the Government in New Sports Policy recently announced by UT Administration despite the fact that DoPT Government of India has included Rollball in its list of games under which players can get job under Sports quota.
The championship was organized by J&K Rollball Association, under the aegis of the J&K Sports Council and was co-sponsored by J&K Tourism and CRPF 38 Battalion.
Earlier, the J&K Sports Council, Divisional Sports Officer Jammu, Ashok  Singh declared the championship open last week in presence of Manager, Indoor complex Satish Gupta  while  Madan Khajuria was guests of honor on the occasion.
Anil Sharma, JKAS, was chief guest at the prize distribution ceremony, while Rahul Malpotra, Deputy Commandant 38 Battalion was guest of honor along with Raj Pal, Assistant Commandant.

Latest Post