Faculty of Agriculture conducts 66th Pre-Research Council Meeting
About Us | Contact Us | E-Paper
Title :    Text :    Source : 

Faculty of Agriculture conducts 66th Pre-Research Council Meeting

Post by RK News on Wednesday, September 13, 2023

First slide
Srinagar, Sep 12: Faculty of Agriculture conducted its 66th Pre-Research Council Meeting on Tuesday. The meeting is held to discuss and deliberate upon the Research programs of the faculty and its associated research stations. 
The meeting was chaired by Prof. Arshad H. Mughal, Associate Director Research (Agri.), SKUAST-K and attended by Prof. Raihana H. Kanth, Dean Faculty of Agriculture, Associate Director Research of MRCFC Khudwani & DARS Budgam, HoDs of Subject Matter Divisions, Assistant Director Research, Scientists of the Faculty & representatives of Research stations. 
Prof. Mughal highlighted the need for research in frontier areas, good agricultural practices, innovations and digital technology with a human touch.  He desired that the research priorities should be devised in such a manner so that the technology developed can help in improving the socio-economic condition of the farmers. He highlighted the challenges farming community is facing regarding declining of agricultural land, water scarcity, inclement weather, climate changes, nutritional security and stressed upon the scientists and researchers to find out the ways to overcome these for profitable farming. 
He also desired that all HoDs should come up with a brief compilation of recommendations of concluded research projects through technological bulletins for the benefit of different stakeholders. Prof. Raihana, elaborated the research achievements of the faculty and stressed the need to develop smart revenue generation models for university farms. She stressed for submitting external research projects to various funding agencies to enable scientists to support quality research for the benefit of farming community. During the meeting new research projects were approved for Rabi season based on the inputs of different divisions/stations and feedback from line departments. The meeting ended with vote of thanks by Dr. T. A. Raja, Prof. & Head Division of Agri. Economics & Statistics.

Latest Post