About Us | Contact Us | E-Paper

Workshop on Jal Shakti Abhiyan ‘Catch the Rain 2022’ organised in Rajouri

Post by on Thursday, June 16, 2022

First slide
Rajouri, , June 15: A workshop cum orientation programme on Jal Shakti Abhiyan ‘Catch the Rain 2022’ was organised here in the Conference Hall of the PWD Dak Bunglow Rajouri.
Addressing the workshop, the Director USC, MOD, Pankaj Pandey stressed on water conservation and rain water harvesting and also pointed toward the depleting water level and increase in water demand.
He said advance planning to catch the rain is being implemented under the Jal Shakti Abhiyan.
While enumerating various measures being taken to conserve and preserve water, he said that the Govt is taking slew of measures in this regard and the need of an hour is to further strengthen these efforts to preserve this invaluable gift of nature.
While speaking during the workshop, the Deputy Commissioner Rajouri, Vikas Kundal elucidated the objective of 'Catch the Rain' campaign and asserted that the District Administration is working on a multiprolonged strategy to preserve water.
The DDC also said that to harness the available water resources and its proper management is our top priority.
Highlighting the importance of community participation for the success of the campaign in the district, he said there is a need to create awareness and involve the general public to give momentum to the campaign. 
Underlining the efforts being made for the repair and renovation of water bodies in the district, the DC said that more than 3400 water bodies have been repaired and renovated in the district and thrust being given to water harvesting works under MGNREGA.
The DDC also said there is a growing need to improve the use of water by encouraging it's judicious use, reducing water waste and to fully utilise and store rain water in all probable storage sites through sensitisation and awareness programmes involving local authorities.
Among the others, the workshop was attended by ADDC, Pawan Kumar; Scientist-B, CGWB NWR, Dhan Prakash; CPO, Mohammad Khurshid; SE Hydraulics, JP Singh; DSEO, Sandeep Sharma; AD Planning, Mohd Rafi and other concerned officers.

Latest Post