About Us | Contact Us | E-Paper

Six Gujjar organizations thank PM for grant of political reservation for STs

Post by on Sunday, May 8, 2022

First slide
JAMMU, May 07: Six main organizations of Gujjars and Bakerwals Saturday thanked Prime Minister of India NarendraModi for grant of Political Reservation to STs of Jammu and Kashmir.
They also welcomed the Delimitation Commission’s final notification reserving nine seats for Scheduled Tribes in the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly.
In a joint statement, Gurjardesh Charitable Trust Jammu, Tribal Research & Cultural Foundation Jammu, AkhilBhartiyaGurjarMahasaba Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir GujjarBakerwal Joint Forum, Reasi, GujjarBakarwalIthad Council, Rajouri and Sarimastaan Tribal Gurjar Welfare Foundation Poonch stated that reservation of nine seats including six in Jammu and three in Kashmir Division for tribals (STs) in J&K Assembly is a step that will prove historic towards empowerment of tribal communities.
The statement reads that though the Gujjars and Bakerwals were declared ST in 1991 but it took 31 years for the tribes to get the political reservation, which is a part of their legitimate rights as STs.
The statement reads the political reservation granted to ST will empower Gujjars and Bakerwals, which are a major tribal group in Jammu Kashmir ethnically, socially and educationally. It will provide a sense of pride among the tribes.
“We the Gujjars and Bakerwals heartily welcome the gazette notification issued today reserving J&K Assembly seats of Rajouri, Budhal, Thanamandi, SurankoteMendhar, Gulabghar, Kangan, Gurez and Kokernag for Tribal communities,” the statement further reads.
The Delimitation Commission has reserved nine ACs for STs for the first time as the erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir State did not provide for reservation of seats for the Scheduled Tribes in the Legislative Assembly.
The commission has granted the reservation under Constitution of India Article 330 and Article 332 in Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and was worked out on the basis of 2011 Census.

Latest Post